The Clean Hippie

Seeking the sustainable life in New York City

What do YOU want to read about? March 28, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Alden @ 7:03 am

I’ve noticed that the readership of my blog has started to tick upward at a good pace, and I’m thrilled! The only thing is, I’m not quite sure who a lot of these 80 to 120 readers a day are. I know that some are my friends and family, and some are people who are searching for information on Bikram Yoga or A Cook’s Cafe in Annapolis, which are two of my top posts.

But what about the rest? I want to know who you are. What do you like? Where are you from? Do you read this blog because you know me personally? Because you met me at an NYC event and want to know more? Because we had a brief fling in high school and you are stalking me? (I mean, whatever, it’s cool.)

Or do you read because you have an interest in sustainable issues and you struggle with the same things I do? Perhaps you like the ocassional smoothie or quinoa recipe, or live in New York and like hearing my reviews about cool places to go. I don’t know, maybe you even consider me a freak show, because I post about my adventures at Shag and Kiki de Montparnasse and you enjoy gossiping to your friends about me.

Whatever your reason, the more I get to know you as readers, the more I can cater to what you want and what you enjoy. So I’m asking all you lurkers (that is the technical term for people who read a blog but never comment on any posts) to introduce yourselves: where you are from, why you read, what you are interested in. Tell me your favorite post. Ask questions and give me your opinion.

How much do you know about sustainability issues? Are some of my posts over your head? Should I explain more why I buy organic and eat local foods, or would that be a waste of blog space?

As an extra incentive, I have several other blog posts waiting in the wings, but I’m not posting them until I get at least a few comments.

I want to take my blog to the next level, and I’m hoping you, my readers, will help me get there. After all, what motivates me to jam out a post a few times a week is you.

Whoever you are.

 

One Response to “What do YOU want to read about?”

  1. Hi! I read you fairly regularly, about every other day or so. I do not live in New York and we have never met. I read you because you help me see the truth in everything.
    My husband and I are working towards living sustainably. We are cutting down our foot prints, eating our own grown foods, not eating at fast food joints, pretty much just cutting out all the crap. (We are slowly weaning ourselves off of sugar and are going to switch to stevia!)
    You open my eyes to ideas I haven’t though of and to steps I haven’t taken. I guess you take me that one extra step and challenge me to take thinking green to the next level.
    Hope this helps!
    Jen in NC


Leave a Reply

