The Clean Hippie

Seeking the sustainable life in New York City

Day 1 of The Clean Program March 16, 2010

Filed under: experiment,Food — Alden @ 12:34 am
Tags: , ,

I got up early this morning to make sure I had everything set and organized. Four bottles of pills, two jugs of powder. First I made my smoothie. Even though I used the “Flavor-packed” recipe, it still tasted pretty bad, but drinkable. I gulped it down as quickly as I could, swallowed four pills, then cooked some chicken to use in my lunch.

In my lunch bag went:

  • My lunch meal of polenta and chicken. (Polenta isn’t allowed but I’m not wasting it! At least it’s organic.)
  • 8 pills: 4 for lunch and 4 for dinner
  • A travel coffee mug with the powder, in case I got held up late at work and need to make my “dinner” there.
  • A water bottle with lemon squeezed in it.
  • Extra lemon to add to my water throughout the day.

At around 1 I had my lunch and took my second set of pills. A half hour later a headache crept in, and low-lying nausea took up residency in my stomach. Maybe I wasn’t drinking enough water? I had finished one bottle’s worth of water, but filled it again.

In between trips to the bathroom to deal with all that water I was drinking, I marveled at how I felt almost high. Were toxins being released into my body? Or was I just hungry with a hyperactive imagination? Either way, I don’t think I ate a big enough lunch, something I hope to fix tomorrow.

Seven rolled around, and finding myself still at work and the cafeteria closed, (Damnit, need to bring coconut water or juice with me tomorrow!) I filled my coffee mug with water and shook it to mix in the powders.

I took a gulp. I made a face. I took a gulp. I gagged. I set the water bottle down and decided to pick up some organic pomegranate juice on my way home so I could try this powder thing again. It was at this moment I thought to myself, “Am I really doing this for 20 more days?”

I’m not going to tell you my actual weight, but starting tomorrow I’ll tell you + or – how many pounds from my set point this morning. Stay tuned…

 

One Response to “Day 1 of The Clean Program”

  1. Corey Says:

    Don’t get too skinny!


Leave a Reply

