The Clean Hippie

Seeking the sustainable life in New York City

A Good Weekend Staying In March 14, 2010

Filed under: Food — Alden @ 2:29 am
Tags: , ,

Vicki and I did not leave the apartment today. There was a hurricane outside. Ok, maybe not a hurricane. But it looked like a hurricane. The rain is blowing sideways, and gusting winds howl through the whole apartment building. It pushed open our creaky front door repeatedly until we finally threw the bolt. The whole place sounds haunted and spooky.

This afternoon I went into my bedroom and went to the window to look out at the rain, and discovered water dripping down the casing to form a puddle on the floor. All the Super could do was help me pull my bed away from the window, suggest I pull the electrical cords out of the puddle, and tell me to put towels down until the weather clears and someone can fix whatever is wrong.

But Vicki and I are getting good at rummaging-and-cooking. It’s an art form, and especially helpful when a run to the grocery store is out of the question. It would be so cruel to make a bicycle delivery boy brave this weather. So we look at what we have. We’re by no means experts at rummaging-and-cooking, but lemme tell you what we ate last night and today.

Last night we had the last of my polenta and Farmers Market veggies and potatoes baked in olive oil. This is my favorite way to eat veggies. You slice up some onions, mushrooms, carrots, and zucchini, for example, and toss it all in olive oil, salt, pepper, and parsley, then put it on a cookie sheet. Then you poke some holes in potatoes. It doesn’t matter which. Last night we used red, regular, and sweet potatoes. Nestle the potatoes in the veggies and bake it all in the oven until your fork sinks easily into the potatoes. So good! The vegetables come out crispy and the potatoes release a cloud of steam when you slice them open. Sandwich a pat of butter in the slit for a delicious indulgence.

This morning we made a delicious Southwest chorizo omelets, with farmers market eggs, sweet red peppers, mushrooms, soy chorizo, cheese, and salsa on the side. We were both blown away by how delicious it was, even if it was more of a pile of stuff than a pretty omelette.

Now we have a wok on the stove with some more rummaged vegetables, chicken, sesame oil, and a sauce I made from what we had around: soy sauce, white wine, flour, honey, and chicken stock. (I suggest using cornstarch – the flour isn’t substituting well.)

I’m pretty proud of us. Vicki went out this morning to get some milk for the omelette, but aside from that, we constructed three filling meals from what we had in the apartment. And neither of us had gone grocery shopping all week! Vicki got up on a stool and explored the back reaches of the food cabinet to find some good stuff she forgot she had, and rice for the stir-fry.

I should probably clarify the “we” in this rummaging and cooking. “We” rummage, “I” cook. I discovered today that Vicki is afraid of flames and hot stuff. I don’t mind though, I really enjoy cooking.

You won’t see pictures of us on this post, just food. Since neither of us have left the apartment, we don’t exactly look hot.

(A bit later…)

So now Vicki and I are both full and happy, and a little bit tipsy from the white wine. The wind is still howling, but I’ve got Matteo on the couch next to me to snuggle with. Vicki was supposed to go to a party in Brooklyn, but it was cancelled due to “A hundred percent chance of weather. Not the good kind.”  I was also invited out with some friends in addition to a promised call to a friend from college, but it’s just not happening. It looks like it’s a catch-up-on-a-good-book night.

Have a good night guys, and if you’re in New York, stay dry!!

 

One Response to “A Good Weekend Staying In”

  1. […] pause. I don’t want to waste food, and all this very specific shopping goes against my new rummage-and-cook […]


Leave a Reply

