The Clean Hippie

Seeking the sustainable life in New York City

Oh man, this is going to be bad. March 4, 2010

Filed under: Food,green angst — Alden @ 9:24 pm
Tags: , , ,

St. Patrick’s Day is still almost two weeks away, but no worries, Hoboken is celebrating early this Saturday.

And I will be there.

I’m on this horrendously long email chain between a big group of people from my touch football team. The words “epic,” “huge,” and “ridiculous” have been used. Mentions of Jameson, a leprechaun costume, Bailey’s, and mimosas (my idea!) are sprinkled throughout. Here’s the plan: Breakfast with eggs, waffles, sausage and alcohol starts at 9 a.m., bars by 10 before they get packed, the parade at 1, and then who knows.

Remember when I wrote that post about how my life falls apart when I drink too much and all my good intentions get chucked out the grimy bar window? Well, I would say 75% of the drunkfests I have been involved with in the past three months have been with these people. I love them, I really do. They are hilarious and fun and wonderful people. However, they do not take no for an answer.

“Take a shot!”

“No thanks.”

“DO IT.”

“No really…”

“STOP BEING A SISSY AND TAKE THE SHOT!”

“Alright!”  And then I scrunch up my face and take the shot and ask myself, for the 20th time, why on earth I ever agree to pour Jameson down my throat. That stuff is awful.

In short, this impending festival of drinking scares the hell out of me. How will waffles  fit within my resolution not to eat sugar for a month? How about those sausages? They will ruin my aspirations to only eat “good” hormone-free, organic, local meat. Let’s not even discuss what will happen when I get the drunk munchies in Hoboken. Ouch. And then, of course, there is the hangover the next day.

I’m just an all or nothing type of girl. Unless I am in the presence of my boss or my mom, I am not a sip-beer type of girl. I’m a “Hell yeah, bring it on, this is awesome!” girl. And this tendency seems to conflict, just a tad, with my lofty aspirations for eating well.

Here is the most important question of all: Is being concerned about the environment making me an un-fun loser? I used to LOVE all day drinking fests. I loved to “Do it for the story.” But now all the super-fun-ness seems almost – ALMOST – overshadowed by the possibility of passing out and getting trampled by drunk people dressed in green, the three pounds I will put on before Monday consisting of processed crap, and the hangover. It’s like this one day could unravel everything I’ve done to be healthy over the past six months. I mean, it’s HOBOKEN. on ST. PATRICK’S DAY. ‘Nuff said.

This questions of whether I’m fun anymore really bothers me y’all. I will give this some thought….

 

3 Responses to “Oh man, this is going to be bad.”

  1. Corey Says:

    Eating healthy is an individually conscience-satisfying activity for rich white people.

    How are you doing Alden?

  2. […] So, if you are a regular reader, you might enjoy the list of what this self-righteous, consciously cocky, sugar-avoiding, hyper-aware hippie ate yesterday during the St. Patrick’s Day celebration in Hoboken. (It’s not like I didn’t see this coming.) […]


Leave a Reply

