The Clean Hippie

Seeking the sustainable life in New York City

FAIL: I ate sugar. Kind of. March 4, 2010

Filed under: experiment,Food — Alden @ 3:01 am
Tags: , ,

Corn syrup to be exact. You might remember that I am trying to go a full month withou sugar. But I broke my resolution on the second day! This is how it went down:

Yesterday afternoon I had fruit for lunch, with some coconut water. I wasn’t in the mood for anything else. Of course when 5:00 rolled around, I was hungry and needed to put something in my stomach before my personal training session at 8.

I stretched out my sore back, and wandered down to the cafeteria to look at the options. This was what they had:

  • cupcakes
  • jelly beans
  • cookies
  • candy bars
  • malt balls
  • flavored drinks and sodas
  • cob salad
  • bananas
  • hummus with pretzels
  • flavored organic and conventional yogurt
  • Starbucks coffee
  • cheesecake
  • coffee cake

Yup, almost all of the options, save for the cob salad and the bananas, had added sugar. I had had my fill of fruit. I didn’t want a gross cob salad with iceberg lettuce. So I got the hummus with pretzels. And guess what? The pretzels had corn syrup.

It kind of made me angry. How have we gotten to the point where 85% of the food available as an afternoon snack has sugar in it? It’s hard enough to spend 8 to 11 hours sitting at desk staring at a computer. Please do me the favor of providing real food that will power me up in the afternoon. Not jelly beans and soda, thanks. How about some nuts? Almonds or cashews anyone? Maybe a larger variety of fruit? Salads with dark leafy greens like spinach and arugula? How about snacks bars made with whole ingredients like Raw Revolution or Kind bars? A wrap with veggies and chicken? Oh man, or a smoothie bar that serves real fruit smoothies with agave. That would be awesome!

What makes it more frustrating is that my office is located in a food desert next to the West Side highway in midtown. If I had the option or time, I would be more than happy to duck out the door and get something else. Alas, not possible.

And let’s be honest, it’s not just my work. I remember during college the sorority would provide study snacks during finals. You know what they were? Doritos and cookies.

People who are in charge of making food decisions should take into account what actually improves performance. Not sugary stuff, but real food that fills up the stomach and can fuel brainpower for hours and hours, without a crash. You know, like fruit, nuts, and vegetables?

Sigh. Anyway, I did do much better today as far as staying away from the sugar. I started with a smoothie flavored with agave for breakfast, crab cakes and black bean soup for lunch with the boss, hazelnuts (which I brought from home to address the afternoon snack issue) and chicken and polenta for dinner. That makes three days without consuming (too much) sugar.

 

Leave a Reply

