The Clean Hippie

Seeking the sustainable life in New York City

I’m so sick and I know why. February 16, 2010

Filed under: Food,green angst,Tips — Alden @ 6:30 pm

It’s because I didn’t treat my body well.

Our culture seems to put the blame for sicknesses on a few factors: the health of the people around us, and going outside with wet hair or no jacket.

I mean, yeah, cold weather can weaken our body’s ability to fight off infection. But it’s way too simplistic of an explanation. I can pinpoint the almost exact hour when my body started to lose the battle against this awful cold.

Last week when I was in North Carolina for a funeral I pigged out. I ate Kentucky Fried Chicken, biscuits, pound cake, coffee cake, more biscuits, chocolate chip cookies, snickerdoodles, beer, martinis, wine, pita chips, biscuits, and more pound cake with a crunchy, sugary crust. I had two mini carrots in the way of fresh, whole food or even plain water. Our body needs fresh fruits and veggies in order to fend off sickness, and I hadn’t given mine any.

When I went to bed on Tuesday, my stomach felt really weird. I could feel the sugar setting to work on my body, and there were no vitamins or minerals to stop the onslaught. When I woke up the next morning, my throat was a little bit sore.

The next day I continued my assault on my health. More pound cake, sweet tea, biscuits and cookies. I got some protein from eggs, but that’s about it in the way of real food.

By the time I left on Friday morning, I knew that I had put on a few pounds and that my body was hurting from the abuse I had heaped on it. Combined with only a couple hours of sleep so I could catch my 6 am flight, the refined sugar and processed junk propelled me head on into a terrible cold. I’m sniffling, sneezing, and hacking something terrible. My coworkers looked genuinely concerned and have given me a wide berth all day. I just want to go home and curl up in bed.

I brought this on myself though. I will just try to remember this feeling next time I decide to go hog-wild on the junk food and alcohol.

 

One Response to “I’m so sick and I know why.”

  1. […] ahead of the game. I’m not going out tonight anyway because I’m still recovering from my cold, so I’m going to take this opportunity to do a little […]


Leave a Reply

