The Clean Hippie

Seeking the sustainable life in New York City

Naya Shoes are pretty darn cute. (And green!) February 6, 2010

Filed under: Food,Green fashion,Places to go,Products — Alden @ 2:33 am
Tags: , , , ,

I had the pleasure of being invited to a Tweetup last week,  at a little bar called The Ten Bells on the Lower East Side. It was to showcase a new line of shoes called Naya.

First of all, let me just say that I have to get back to The Ten Bells. You could walk past its unassuming front several times (like I did) because there is no sign out front. But once you get inside, it’s welcoming. Small, but welcoming. Oh, and it serves organic wine and and what looks like delish food, including local cheeses from raw milk. When I walked in out of the softly falling snow, it was bustling with patrons sitting around the bar and gossiping over the tables. Impressive for a Tuesday, for sure.

At the back of the bar, I was welcomed by representatives of the brand, who showed me some styles. To be honest, a few were a little dowdy – no stilettos here. But once I learned that Naya is the daughter of Naturalizer, that made a little more sense. Still, in the dim light of the bar, I picked out a few shoes that I will be coming back for next fall, like a pair of chocolate brown, knee-high boots with a medium heel and tassels.

Honestly, it’s nice to find even passably pretty shoes that are eco-friendly. Last time I tried an “eco-friendly” store, it was vegan. I hate vegan shoes. They’re just plastic fakes with an extra 75 bucks tacked on. Also, I have very high standards for my shoes as far as aesthetics. Naya shoes just about make it there. Pretty, not drop dead, but pretty.

So here are their green credentials (full disclosure, I’m quoting from their marketing materials.)

  • Chrome-free or vegetable-tanned leathers
  • Natural, organic or sustainable fabrics
  • Heels made from sustainable bamboo
  • Biodegradable latex foam cushioning
  • Natural cork and rubber footbeds
  • Outsoles made with recycled materials
  • Nickel-free metal buckles
  • Recycled paper boxes
  • Water soluble glues and cements

Not bad, right?

Bottom line: I think I might get their white shoes (shown above) for spring. I’m always looking for comfy white leather summer sandals that look nice. And when fall comes… I’ll be in the stores looking for those boots!

Naya is currently available at Shoes.com, PlanetShoes.com, and select Naturalizer stores. Later you’ll find them at Zappos, Piperlime, and Nordstrom.

 

Leave a Reply

