The Clean Hippie

Seeking the sustainable life in New York City

The best Eco-friendly Xmas gifts ever! December 28, 2009

So, it’s finally happened. I’m officially the “granola-cruncher” of the family. The hippy dipster, the all-natural gal, the recycling radical. And it has paid off! Instead of getting gadgets and clothing, I got thoughtful gifts, ones that I knew hadn’t been assembled by a child in a developing country then sent overseas.

For My Darling arm warmers

My sister gave me adorable upcycled fingerless gloves from Etsy. She got them for my cousins too. So cute!

My mom got me a wonderful pair of Kate Spade shoes. Not exactly eco-friendly, but I’ll get a lot of use out of them! Don’t you agree?

From my step dad and step-grandmother? Donations in my name to Heifer International and Women for Women International. I get a lot of satisfaction knowing money that would have been spent on something I wouldn’t like (God bless them both, Nana and Steve know they haven’t got a clue about my style) is instead going to help a family and a woman out there who desperately need it.

From my wonderful boyfriend, Mastering the Art of French Cooking and Julie & Julia, so I can whip up inventive recipes from the farmers market! (What’s that book next to it, you say? It’s This is Why You’re Fat. It’s a compendium of over-the-top American grossness in cooking that Scott got as a present. Ironic much?) My sister also made origami boxes from leftover paper from her summer wedding to put in our stockings. Now that is up-cycling at its most beautiful. Also in my stocking: a handmade Christmas ornament and vegan, cruelty-free lemon soap. It smells like meringue. I almost ate it before my Mom stopped me.

I gave my sister a scrapbook of her wedding that I put together from her leftover wedding ribbons and paper. Her husband got a beer-brewing kit from the Brooklyn Brew Shop. My step-grandmother got an up-cycled crocheted pin from the Christmas fair at Union square. And for my Mom? Well, she loved her orange sweater. “Where is it from?” someone asked her. “Oh, it’s probably recycled from organic wool or something,” she said, smiling. “Uh, actually it’s from Anthropologie,” I told her. “I just thought it looked cute.” Oh well, can’t be perfect!

My boyfriend’s present came too late and is sitting in my apartment in New York. So I can’t say what that is yet! And apparently his other present for me is waiting for me in New York too. He colluded with Vickie, the roommate, to get it set up. I’m totally baffled. What could it be?? Stay tuned….

 

3 Responses to “The best Eco-friendly Xmas gifts ever!”

  1. I like your layout a lot, can you please tell me which theme you are using – I’d like to check it out!

  2. Just wanted to say I’ve read a few posts and now I’m hooked! You’re writing is superb – and I just added you to my feedreader. You keep me coming back!


Leave a Reply

