The Clean Hippie

Seeking the sustainable life in New York City

I’m in love! The Farmers Market December 10, 2009

Filed under: Food,Places to go,recipes — Alden @ 2:56 pm
Tags: , , ,

I know I’ve posted about the farmers market before. But really, that was just puppy love. A passing fling. I went once to the Greenmarket at 66th street this summer, which had about 10 tents of stuff. I didn’t go back. It’s not that I didn’t want to, it’s just that it was such a hassle to go all the way down there, when there is a West Side Market right on my corner.

Well, friends, after reading my quartet of sustainable/local food books, I decided to give the local food thing another try. So last week I went all the way down to Union Square for the year-round Green Market.

LOVE.

I sampled wines and hard cider from New York state. I bought delicious whole grain bread whose chunky and dense texture just screamed “I’m homemade! YUMMY!” to go with my grandmother’s peach preserves. I bought honey goat cheese. I bought skim milk that tastes like whole – creamy and smooth – from a woman named Ruby. She calls the cows “girls” and was happy to explain to me the kind of life her pampered girls lead. I bought all sorts of vegetables, oyster mushrooms, and ground turkey. I bought free range eggs that represented the whole spectrum of brown, beige, and white. I also passed a stand with sirloin steaks, rump roasts, and other fine cuts of meat. I didn’t get any though because I’m not a huge beef eater. (Scott, you’ll be getting some when I come home for Christmas.)

When I got home with my haul, Vicky was there too. So I sauteed all the vegetables up, covered the oyster mushrooms with lemon juice and butter to fry, and made turkey meatballs. (I need some practice for those…or a better pan, they were pretty burnt.) We washed it down with hard apple cider from upstate. The best part? I had everything I needed for a delicious meal right in my home. I didn’t think I would be able to do that with local stuff.

The best part was the main Green Market stand where you can pick up recipes that use only ingredients from the GreenMarket. It makes it easy to plan something on the fly.

I went back Sunday to the one up by Columbia to return my little chocolate milk bottle to Milk Thistle Farm, and pick up some fresh greens for a salad, sweet potatoes, and red potatoes for some meals this week. Yesterday for breakfast I made an omelette with the last of the goat cheese and onions. Then I tried to go back down to Union Square to stock up again, but I forgot my wallet.

I’ll just go back tomorrow. Like I told Vicky, I don’t get mad at myself when I do these things, because then I would be mad all the time!

 

2 Responses to “I’m in love! The Farmers Market”

  1. Mike Says:

    Hi Alden,

    Love that you’re exploring the greenmarkets!

    Check out our site that has info on all the markets, farmers and products in the greenmarket network: http://www.whatisfresh.com.

    We’d love to hear what you think!

    Eat well,

    Mike
    http://www.whatisfresh.com
    http://www.twitter.com/freshapp


Leave a Reply

