The Clean Hippie

Seeking the sustainable life in New York City

Transportation: burn fat, not fuel? October 21, 2009

Filed under: experiment — Alden @ 1:53 pm
Tags: , ,

2006-11-subway11

I totally agree with the above statement. It totally make sense. Until you put it into practice!

Yesterday my main event was a conference near Penn Station. That’s on 34th street, which is 76 blocks away from my apartment. I suppose I could have put on tennis shoes (I really hate that look, tennis shoes with a professional outfit? It’s so DC.) and walked down there. That would take me an estimated hour and a half at a brisk walk. And I bet I would have smelled terrible once I got there.

So, like usual, I took the subway. The subway is a step down from walking or biking, and a step up from taking a cab. And lately, I have been forcing myself to take it, even when I really don’t want to. A couple nights ago I went out for a few beers with some friends. By the end of the night I was being really lame, yawning and not being able to hold up my end of the conversation. So I excused myself.

It was cold outside, and all I had was a light wrap. The subway was 6 blocks away. Luckily New York isn’t as scary as it used to be, but I still got a little nervous. Everytime a male got too close, I crossed my arms tightly and walked faster. Finally I was at the platform. The 1 took another 15 minutes to arrive.

But after all, it wasn’t that bad. I was tired, but the cold air had woken me up. I got in a bunch of reading on my ikindle while I waited, and I saved about $14.

All in all, I would always recommend the subway. It’s cheaper, and I’ve never felt threatened on it. At least… not yet.

 

Leave a Reply

