The Clean Hippie

Seeking the sustainable life in New York City

It’s Blog Action Day! YAAAY! October 15, 2009

Filed under: Cool sites,green angst — Alden @ 8:58 pm
Tags: , ,

In honor of this momentous occasion, I’m going to talk a little bit about climate change. I know most of my readers aren’t die hard tree-huggers like me. It’s ok. I just hope I can drive home what a big deal this is.

Let me just say first off, yes, it is real. (I’m talking to you, Emerson.) The arctic oceans are acidifying as their glaciers melt away into oblivion, which will seriously f up the delicious fish supply coming from that region. The flooding of poor coastal regions will force those affected to retreat into unstable regions, provoking war. (You know, where the United States inevitably gets involved? Sweet.) Water supplies are threatened too. Chaos, disharmony, unhappiness. A whole lot of unhappiness.

Look, maybe you don’t care about the Bangladeshis. Ok. But think about how the cute little Annapolis Harbour will look like it did a few years back. Remember, when downtown flooded. Didn’t know MD could have its own Venice, did you?

annapolis

And then there are all the species that are threatened by climate change. All that pretty coral that makes for good snorkling? It’s not doing so hot. Those sea creatures never did anything to you! Though I suppose mosquitos will make it through ok. They always do.

Look, I’m not expecting you to start buying all your food from Whole Foods. I just want you to be aware that there is a bigass Copenhagen meeting in December. What happens there could have a big affect on the quality of life of us, and our children.

If we don’t pay a little now, we WILL be paying in the future. Promise. A little bit more expensive gas now will save us from a lot of grief. I just don’t want to tell my kid someday, “I don’t know why we didn’t do something, sweetie. We just really messed up.”

Support big action in Copenhagen. Go to http://www.blogactionday.org/en/takeaction and tell the world that you want something to be done!

Thanks yall!

 

Leave a Reply

