The Clean Hippie

Seeking the sustainable life in New York City

A nice, healthy, hippy glow August 25, 2009

Filed under: Beauty,Cool sites,Products — Alden @ 7:53 pm

24038So I’m a little obsessed with this Lavera Sunless tanner. It’s organic, and super, super effective. When I was using it last year, I got compliments on my glow. “Wow, you look so tan! How did you do that?” (It was February, mind you.)

I just ordered a new bottle, which I’m going to save for when I’m not hitting the beach every weekend.

Skin Deep gives it a 6. That’s…ok. It’s better than Neutrogena, Banana Boat, Almay, and Elizabeth Arden, but the healthiest self-tanner got a 4. Of course, I’ve never heard of that tanner before.

The Good Guide App gives Lavera a 6.8 out of 10 for being involved in the community and adhering to high safety standards. (Confusing, I know. They rank they’re stuff oppositely. So higher is better for Good Guide, and lower is better for Skin Deep.) Compare that to 6.8 for Neutrogena and a scary 4.9 for Banana Boat!

Anyway, it’s not perfect, but it’s comforting to know that it’s so much better than a lot of other big brands. And that I look hot using it. 🙂

 

One Response to “A nice, healthy, hippy glow”

  1. […] I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I got the sense that the author, Sophie Uliano, has been doing this a while, and doing it well. You could say she’s my role model! The book was informative, and directed me to a plethora of useful websites for ordering eco-friendly products and clothing, as well as sites that just help you live your life better. There were plenty of action points too, so you can get started right away in your quest to be green. Bonus: she has a website and newsletter, which periodically doles on deals on green products. It’s where I found out about Lavera. […]


Leave a Reply

