The Clean Hippie

Seeking the sustainable life in New York City

Bad pick-up lines and good beer August 21, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Alden @ 1:15 pm

Last night I went out with my friends Maggie and Casidhe to this cool southern dive bar, Brother Jim’s, on the Upper West side at 81st and Amsterdam. They serve margaritas there in mason jars that are delicious at first, and then kind of make you want to vomit from all the sugar. I had 1.5 and then decided to have a beer.

I’ve posted about drinking in an eco-friendly way before. But I came across another great beer guide from Greenopia. I’ve been ordering Stella lately, because it’s a subsidiary of Anheuser-Busch and the upstate NY brewery recycles like a mo-fo.

But according to Greenopia it only gets a one-leaf ranking. Here’s the list:

Company, # of leafs:

New Belgium Brewery 4
Eel River 3
Bison 2
Butte Creek 2
Sierra Nevada 2
Anheuser-Busch 1
Corona 1
Foster’s 1
Labatt Blue 1
Samuel Smith 1
Molson-Coors 0
Guiness 0
Heineken 0
Sam Adams 0
Tecate 0

It has to do with how much water is used in the process and some other things. I’m not sure I’ve ever had New Belgium before, but I’ll check it out next time I’m out!

Also, this so is priceless. This guy last night, after I told him what my internship is about, was like, “Well, I think you’re pretty eco-friendly.”

I gave him a question mark look, and he goes, “I mean, you seem pretty friendly all around.”

I continued to look at him, and he said “Oh, well, it was worth a try.”

Poor guy, ha.

 

Leave a Reply

