The Clean Hippie

Seeking the sustainable life in New York City

Drinking like a hippie July 29, 2009

Filed under: Places to go,Products — Alden @ 9:50 pm
Tags: , , ,

723650672MicUltrastella_artoisSquare-One-Cucumber-lg1037445xDrinking like a hippie DOES NOT mean passing out on top of my bong with my face planted into post-music festival mud. Just wanna make that clear. I only passed out with my face in my pillow last night.

So I met up with an old college friend for drinks last night.Before I left work, I thought to myself, what a great opportunity to figure out how to be sustainable while drinking my cares away! (GOD I am such a nerd.)

Look, I know it seems weird to care about what I’m putting in my body, when essentially I’m pouring a type of toxin into my blood in hopes of blurring my vision and losing my inhibitions. HOWEVER, just think of how you felt last time you got drunk off of Aristocrat. Yeah, case in point.

So what kind of liquors to drink? Maybe I want a vodka tonic? Or even skinnier, a vodka soda water? Well, I know Rain Vodka can be found almost everywhere. It’s pricey but delicious. There’s also Square One vodka, Tru Organic Lemon Infused vodka (buy a bottle, they plant a tree!), Juniper Green Organic Dry Gin and Sarticious Gin. Gin tonics really are my favorite.

Eating local is great for the environment, so you might as well drink local too! I see Brooklyn Brewery bottles around a lot. And Anheuser-Busch is actually right in the state. According to Knowmore.org Anheuser-Busch says “it recycled more than 97% of the solid waste it generated in 2003: more than five billion pounds of material. The company released the data as part of its annual environmental, health and safety report. Anheuser-Busch Recycling Corporation is the world’s largest aluminium can recycler.”

Surprising, but cool.2051950924_059d030e47

John took me to the Red Lion in the village. “Wow, this place is yuppy to the max,” I observed. It was stuffed with respectable looking people in khaki pants and nicely tucked in button downs. “Well It’s a W&L hangout,” John said. Ah, that makes sense. I opted for a Brooklyn lager. Well, four Brooklyn Lagers.

They had a great act performing, a girl named Rebecca Correia. (pronounced like Korea) She’s got a wonderful voice, and plays guitar and piano. She was nice enough to talk to me a little bit between sets. She’s based in Nashville but comes up to New York often to perform. I bought a CD off her, filled with live performances she did for Sirius XM, call Soul of Me. I’m listening to it now, and I’m smitten. It’s not availabe on Itunes, but her other CD, Miss You, is. My favorite song is her rendition of Shakespeare’s Sonnet #30. It’s haunting. Especially when you are hung over. When she finished up her final set last night, and John and I left, she even gave me a hug! I was pathetically flattered.

I gave up on sustainable drinking after that. The next bar, Pheobe’s, didn’t seem like the kind of place to carry organic vodka. I had  gin tonic instead, and then dimly remembered I hadn’t had dinner. Woopsies.

 

2 Responses to “Drinking like a hippie”

  1. […] The cocktails looked delicious, though I ordered a glass of wine. They had something called a Goucho Fizz that includes yerba mate (tea from South America) that I wish I had tried. I also saw a Sixpoint beer and Ommegang beer on the menu, both local beers. […]

  2. […] posted about drinking in an eco-friendly way before. But I came across another great beer guide from Greenopia. I’ve been ordering Stella […]


Leave a Reply

